I have paid off my vehicle loan but the creditor has not sent me the title.
Under Virginia law, car lenders are required to send you the title to the vehicle within 30 days after the loan has been paid.
- Under Virginia law, car lenders are required to send you the title to the vehicle within 30 days after the loan has been paid.
- There is an exception to this is for Credit Unions, which can potentially have a lien on your paid-off vehicle after bankruptcy IF you had another debt with them besides the car loan. Even though these debts have been discharged in bankruptcy, by law, the Credit Union still has a lien on your vehicle - they just cannot collect the discharged debt from you. The Credit Union can, however, refuse to give you title to the vehicle until your other debt with them is actually paid. In these circumstances, our office does not have the power to make a Credit Union give the title of your vehicle to you.
- In situations like this, you will not be able to sell the vehicle, since you do not have the title. We recommend that you use the vehicle as long as you safely can, until you are ready to get a new one.